Slavic & Eastern European collections

The Slavic and Eastern European collections contain over a million volumes on Russia and the Soviet Union, as well as Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia-Hercegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Georgia, Hungary, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, and Uzbekistan. (Obviously, some of these countries are neither Slavic nor Eastern European.) The collections include material from all disciplines of the humanities and social sciences, in Western languages and the vernacular languages of these geographic areas. The collections are especially strong in Russian literature; Russian, Soviet and Eastern European history (particularly of the 19th-21st centuries); the Russian and Soviet military; Russian and Polish art and culture; education, economics, and political science.